What should you listen to?

S/O to my friend Anna Sale for answering the question so many of us ask ourselves: “What should I listen to?” If you want the answer, check out her post 10 Musicians to Look Out for This Spring on Coulture’s Art & Music blog.

(TY for introducing me to Allan Rayman and all his musical beauty)

I’d like to add a list of 5 more artists you can listen to this Spring. These are ‘afternoon drives with the windows down’ kinds of songs. Turn the volume up & enjoy.

1. THE REVIVALISTS

My sister saw their show in New Orleans and insisted that I would fall in love with this band. And she was right. Their music is soulful and makes you catch all the happy feels.

Listen to: Wish I Knew You and Soulfight

revivalists-01-4-3-1024x675

2. NATURAL CHILD

This ’70s-style Southern Rock band hails from my hometown, Nashville, TN. I stumbled across them when I was browsing through Spotify one day and have been a fan ever since. Put your headphones on, turn on the volume, and rock on.

Listen to: Out in the Country and Ain’t Gonna Stop

natural-child.2

3. KIMBRA

Everything about this New Zealand pop singer is simply cool. Her unique voice, playfully upbeat songs, and eccentric style are truly captivating. You probably recognize her name as she was featured on Gotye’s Somebody That I Used To Know.

Listen to: Warrior and Goldmine

kimbra

4. PENGUIN PRISON

I dare you to listen to this artist’s electropop jams and not dance. It’s impossible.

Listen to: Show Me the Way and Don’t Fuck With My Money

300x300

5. CHAPPO

You might recognize this Brooklyn band’s song Come Home from the iPod Touch 4 commercial. This is one of those songs that everyone should have in their music library. It never fails to put me in a good mood.

Listen to: Come Home

CHAPPO

Leave a Reply

