The Future of Netflix

Let me start out by saying I’m a “cord-cutter” and I love Netflix. As one of the few Chapel Hill students who did not return home over the Easter weekend (#outofstateproblems), Netflix and I had a lot of free time to spend together and get to know each other on a deeper level—I am now caught up on House of Cards (fun fact: this is Netflix’s first original show), watched Aziz Ansari’s latest stand-up act, and am ashamed to say it took me 21 years to finally watch Top Gun. Another perk to this weekend: I got to binge watch all of this without commercials. Netflix’s ad-free model is a huge part of why I love the TV show and movie streaming service so much. I can choose to watch what I want, whenever I want, and without interruptions. It’s also personalized and recommends shows/movies based on my viewing habits. Netflix just gets me. And I’m hoping it stays around forever. This makes me wonder…does Netflix have a secure spot in the future of television? I think so. Leonardo DiCaprio thinks so. And so does Netflix, as stated in this Wired article “What Television Will Look Like in 2025, According to Netflix.”

netflix1

The article discusses how our seemingly endless browsing through Netflix’s steaming selections would soon come to an end because “Netflix will know exactly what you want to watch, even before you do.” This was every indecisive Netflix user’s dream. And it became true when Netflix announced their Recommended TV Program at the beginning of this year.

At the beginning of the semester I blogged about apps that I wish existed, one of them being an app that would choose the perfect movie to watch for any occasion so that my friends and I don’t have to waste an hour going back and forth between which movie we want to watch. Well, Netflix did just that with their personalization technology. Some might think it’s creepy for Netflix to ‘know what you want,’ but I thoroughly enjoy it…no more wasting time browsing through lists…no more skipping over shows or movies that I would have never known I love had Netflix not introduced them to me.

I have said before that personalization is the key to the future of marketing—and I will say it again—personalization is the key to the future of marketing. People want to read/watch/buy things that are either relatable, appealing or interesting to themselves, such as a curated selection of Netflix shows and movies. So, yes, I do think the future of television will be Netflix (or at least some type of streaming service), where its users can enjoy a viewing experience that was made personally for them.

Leave a Reply

