ATTN All Brands: Be On Social Media

The other day in class we were posed with the question: Do you like brands on social media? My answer is: Yes.

Like Lauren, I am addicted to online shopping, so I like following my favorite stores on Instagram and Facebook and getting updated on new merchandise and sales specials right from my phone. It’s simple, convenient, and personalized—I get to choose who I want to follow and what I want to see. And with these social media platforms, I don’t have to go out of my way to get this information because I already use these sites everyday.

The most successful social media platforms are the ones that work to make people’s lives easier. Let’s face it, people are busy and don’t always have the time to go search through racks of clothes or navigate through multiple pages of website content. Brands need to be on sites and apps that their target markets already use: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Snapchat, etc. These platforms offer brands opportunities to connect with consumers on deeper levels. On multiple occasions, I have been scrolling through my news feed, will come across an insta of something I like from one of the boutiques I follow, and leave a comment asking how much something costs. Within a few hours I’ll get a response from one of the account managers at the store. This is smart business. This makes me feel like a more valued customer, and in turn I feel a stronger connection to these brands.

Social media is all about connection, after all. To build a business or a brand, it is essential to understand how to best use social media to create and foster stronger relationships with consumers. Like professor Robinson said, “It is vital to understand how everyone is using mass media” in order to best reach your target market and build a brand community.

Leave a Reply

