The *Brand* Bowl

With the exception of UNC athletics, the World Cup (¡Viva España!), and the Super Bowl, I don’t watch sports. Cheering on my Tar Heels is a given. I’ve cheered on Spain alongside my dad for every World Cup for as long as I can remember. But honestly the only reason I watch the Super Bowl is for the ads, halftime show (Katy Perry / Missy Elliot duet killed it), and buffalo chicken dip. I spent more time watching the ads than the actual game. The following ads are what I believe were the top 10 ads of the bowl game.

Doritos: Middle Seat

Doritos never fails to impress me with their Super Bowl commercials. Category: humor. Grade: A.


Dove Men+Care: #RealStrength

The daddy’s girl in me got a bit emotional during this ad.


Clash of Clans: Liam Neeson

The Taken reference and mispronunciation of “Liam” are what make this ad great. Kudos to this mobile game app.


Bud Light: Real Life PacMan #UpForWhatever

Let’s face it—we all wish this would happen to us in real life.


Budweiser: Best Buds

Combine an adorable puppy and Clydesdales into an emotional short story and you’ve got yourself this tear-jerker.


Always: #LikeAGirl

An important message for girls of all ages. Well worth the watch.


Coca-Cola: #MakeItHappy

I feel like news is more sad than happy these days, but Coke reminds us of the importance of sharing positivity.


eSurance: Walter White

After the final season finale of Breaking Bad, I never thought I’d get another chance to see Walter White appear on television. Thank you, eSurance, for making this happen.


Avocados from Mexico: #FirstDraftEver

Close but no cigar, polar bear.


T-Mobile: Kim Kardashian

Kim K. mocking her selfie-obsession is too funny to not include.


*Honorable Mention*

Fiat: Blue Pill

As stupid as I thought this was, I still got a good laugh out of it.


P.S. – Sorry Snickers, I’m not much of a Brady Bunch fan.

Leave a Reply

